
Yesterday a phishing scam distribute crossways Facebook in the modify of a communication modify a someone asking you to utter on a unification which took you to what appeared to be a Facebook login, but was actually at a assorted URL, http://fbaction.net. It was apace blocked. But today there seems to be a newborn digit linking to http://fbstarter.com/. It comes in the modify of a communication from a someone informing you to “Look at this!” When you utter on the link, you are condemned to what appears to be a Facebook sign-in page. If you go aweigh and clew in, the phishers hit admittance to your statement and crapper then beam messages to every of your friends.
I meet got digit of these messages. It looks same this:
Joshua dispatched you a message.
Subject: Look at this!
“fbstarter.com”
And fbstarter is hyperlinked.

If you do clew in by mistake, the prizewinning abstract to do is to modify your countersign as apace as possible. Make trusty you are subscribed into the actual Facebook when you do that, however.
Again, it looks same this phishing move is rattling successful. Right today “fbstarter” is the No. 1 hottest constituent on Google Trends.
I hit alerted Facebook to this attack.
Update: Facebook is on the case. They meet dispatched me this update:
We?ve already closed www.fbstarter.com from existence mutual on Facebook. You?ve belike seen what this looks same but I?m including a screenshot. Now, we?re deleting that address from walls and inboxes. We?ve also closed admittance to the address so if someone does encounter it on Facebook (on their wall, in their inbox, or in an telecommunicate notification) it won?t beam them to the destination. Finally, we?ll automatically set the countersign on some statement that dispatched the vindictive link. Thus, the accumulation becomes junked to the intense guys rattling quickly.
In addition, we impact with MarkMonitor (they prefabricated an announcement today). We beam them URLs and they intend them additional to the application blacklists and impact to intend the sites condemned down. I?ve included a screenshot of the warning from Firefox that resulted from their impact on the phishing move yesterday (fbaction.net). They got that place condemned down, too. Today?s place (fbstarter.com) has been downbound most of the morning. MarkMonitor and Facebook are watching it closely, though.

Crunch Network: CrunchGear drool over the sexiest newborn gadgets and hardware.



Share and Enjoy:
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.